Viking River Cruises Customer Review May 1, 2018

Viking River Cruises Customer Review May 1, 2018
Viking River Cruises Customer Review May 1, 2018

Passenger Complaint: Viking River Cruises Customer Review May 1, 2018 – “I’ll start by saying that the Viking Star ship is a beautiful ship. Unfortunately, the attractiveness of the ship was the only good thing about our January 2018 Southern Mediterranean cruise. The room staff did not re-stock the mini bar on any day of the cruise even though we paid extra for this service, they barged in at all times even when we had the do not disturb sign out one time resulting in a very embarrassing confrontation, the food at the specialty restaurants was of poor quality and the service there was so slow paced as to be annoying. I like a relaxing meal but 2 hours for a 3 course dinner will try the patience of any passenger.

In addition, we were subjected to unsafe sailing conditions with no good justification other than the fact that the cruise had a schedule to keep. The captain stated that conditions were unsafe to dock in Sardinia so he decided instead to have us at sea in > 16 foot waves, a choice that is justified only by the cruise lines desire to maintain a schedule, not passenger safety. I can go on at greater length with many other criticisms but I merely wanted to have my voice heard by the cruise line in this forum because the 2 arrogant customer service reps, one named Rex, have dismissed my complaints as frivolous and offered me a mere $1,000 credit on a future cruise as compensation.

In my opinion this offer is an insult given the number and magnitude of the service failures that we experienced. It’s really too bad, because as I said the ship is beautiful, probably the nicest ship I’ve cruised on. But the cruise was the worst experience overall that I’ve ever experienced at sea and a $1,000 voucher is both inadequate compensation and hardly an inducement to get me to sail with Viking again.”

Viking River Cruises Response: “Thank you for reaching out to us, Mr. Bollwage. Rest assured, we hear your concerns and have forwarded your comments to management. Furthermore, our records indicate that you have been in close contact with our Customer Relations Department. Should you have any additional comments or wish to resume the conversation, we invite you to email us at TellUs@vrc.com. Wishing you a lovely day.”